top of page

Wireless Multimeters - Could They Be The New Norm?

I was at work today and one of my colleagues saw me testing the windings of a motor with my meter and asked me if I'd heard about the new wireless digital multimeters. My response? "aren't they all wireless?" All jokes aside, I had heard of them - I know Fluke make one and there's also one by a company called Redfish Instruments that's meant to be pretty popular. But could they take off and overtake "standard" multimeters? I took a look at some of the benefits and documented my findings:

The Redfish Instruments meter allows you to record, store and share your readings - right to your iOS or android phone. I can imagine this would be great in instances where you have to monitor things such as current flow and frequencies over a long period of time. It makes it so much easier than carrying around the old pen and paper! The meter connects to your phone via Bluetooth, and is ALWAYS connected, so you don't have to to mess around with trying to pair the phone and meter each time you want to use it. The RedFish meter also speaks the readings of the multimeter out through speakers, or headphones if you're wearing them.

redfish-instruments-multimeter

The Fluke (model 3000) have focused more on safety, rather than fancy features, when marketing their wireless digital multimeter. With the Fluke, their aim is to have you shut down power to the control cabinet you're working on, connect your remote recording modules (the meter allows you to record to up to three wireless modules at one time), walk away and then take your readings. Their main concern is to protect you from arcing in high powered switch boards. The 3000 allows you to be up to a massive 20 meters away to take your reading - you can even download all your measurements to a computer - fantastic if you want to analyze your data further.

fluke-flk-3000-multimeter

After looking into just two of these wireless multimeters, I can tell you that they both have massive benefits - both for safety and convenience. I can definitely see these becoming more popular in the future, but I don't think they will become the norm. If I were to pick one of these, I would go for the Fluke - simply because it's a more well known, established brand. Although they cost a bit more, I am happy to pay for piece of mind.


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page